Progress and coffee

Just a quick note to say I’m playing hard and trying to make the most of the fleeting summer days. It’s been hot and sticky in Portland for the last few days and (since I’m a good Portlander) I’ve been complaining about it to anyone who will listen. Secretly though? I love it. Absolutely adore it. My summer uniform consists of loose flowing skirts or dresses, tanktops, sunglasses, and bare feet. Every day I look forward to lying in front of a fan with a cold drink in one hand and a good book in the other; the heat as an excuse to lounge and cat-nap. Every night I sit on the porch and catch the warm breeze on my cheeks and watch the moon and stars peak out of the sunset. This little ritual helps me connect to my days, reminds me of summer’s brevity. Sunset is coming earlier every day. It’s an almost imperceptable shift, or perhaps it’s me looking forward to autumn, but at 10:00 pm when I catch a chill on the wind, it reminds me to drink in the heat and the sweat and the sun before they’re gone.

I’ve been waking up anxious on my weekends recently and I think it’s my inner clock telling me to hurry up and do summer things before it’s too late. There are so many things on my list that I still need to do, so many berries that still need to be eaten and so many grassy knolls that need to be napped upon. To jump start my mornings and simultaneously check something off my list, I made cold brewed iced coffee last weekend.

This is hardly a recipe but I’ll put it here for clarity sake:

Cold Brewed Coffee:

1/3 cup ground coffee

1/8 teaspoon salt

Add coffee grounds and salt into coffee vessel (I use my wonderful coffee press) and stir. Add at least 1.5 cups of water and stir again. Let sit for up to 12 hours but at least 8. After the resting period, strain and doctor it to your tastes.

I’d heard from multiple trusted sources that iced coffee tastes more pure than it’s hot counterpart, that the cold brew lends itself to a more nuanced flavor profile. I would have to agree. This was the perfect pick-me-up on Sunday when, at 8am, it was already 75º and only promising to get hotter. I added a touch of honey, a splash of almond milk, and three ice cubes and walked out into the garden to soak up the sun. I plan on making this every weekend until at least mid September. If you’re looking for me, I’ll be next to the fan, this drink in hand.

Stay Sweet

One thought on “Progress and coffee

  1. […] Pingback: Progress and coffee | Secretly Sweet […]

Leave a Reply

