Just Do It

I’m participating in Reverb10 this month. In the words of the creators it’s an “annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.”

I’m starting a few days late but I’m going to do the first three today to catch up. Better late than never right?

Day 2:

December 2 – Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

Let me preface this by saying that I don’t consider myself a writer and I’m ok with that. I’ve enjoyed journaling on and off since I was a pre-teen but it’s never been something I’ve felt especially compelled to do. That being said, excuses keep me from writing every day. Getting too far into my head and staying there puts me in automatic writer’s block. I start to analyze and criticize my work before it’s even on the page and, more often than not, I stop practically before I start.

To eliminate this I could take the leap, trust myself, not be so attached to the outcome and just do it. I think that’s going to be a pretty big theme throughout this excericise….

Leave a Reply

